Half Square Triangle Quilting Tutorial

Welcome to the first tutorial of my new blog. I figured I would start off slow and with something I know like the back of my hand. This leaves me with quilting and half square triangles.

This tutorial is going to show you how to make half square triangles in a way that leaves you with 2.

Now, I’m not going to give specific measurments because depending the size you cut is the size you will get in the end so I will insert a chart at the end of this post so you can get an idea of what size squares you need to cut.

So lets get into the tutorial:

First you are going to need to cut 2 squares of the same size but in 2 different colors or patterns

20170520_164351

Then on your lighter color draw a line connecting the corners as the picture shows below.

20170520_164400

Now you are simply going to sew down one side of the line a quarter inch away and then turn it right on around and sew down the other side of the line once again a quarter inch away.

20170520_164522

Now cut it apart – cut on the line

20170520_164728

This will leave you with 2 half square triangles and all you have to do is press and trim to the size you want.

20170520_165043

You can make so many different quilts using this technique, and if you are comfortable enough to chain piece you can pop out A LOT of these in a short period of time.

As promised here is this handy little chart which I found on google image search, but more specifically links me back to this website: OP Quilt

c6c93eb228de54ebf97c4a1ec14d354d

Here are some things I’ve created using half square triangles.

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial

Until next time

Leave a Reply

