DIY Growth Chart/Stick

As my daughter has gotten older its been a bit of an amazement just how much bigger she has gotten in such a short period of time. A project that I always wanted to tackle was a moveable growth chart. I wanted something portable as my life still has me traveling around quite a bit.

So 2 years later I finally decided to try and make what I was envisioning and here is my tutorial and results.

Now if you have ever wanted to tackle this project, it’s a lot easier than it looks.

The supplies you will need are:

A board

Paint

Paintbrushes

Projector (optional)

A marker or pencil

First thing you are going to do is cut a board as wide and long as you would like your growth stick to be. For mine I’ll be honest and just used a fence post and sanded it down so it would be nice and smooth. Or you could simply cut off the top and make it rectangular. However, where as I went for ease this does leave you with a stick that is in my opinion quite skinny. In the end though it didn’t really bother me and it does what I need it to do.

Then you are going to paint it your base color. I chose this pink that I plan on painting the rest of my daughters room.

20170602_111528

*Side note: Sorry for the messy patio, that is a another ongoing project for another blog post.

Then the next thing I did was figure out what design I wanted on it. For the specific design I chose I used a projector to project the image onto the board and then I simply traced over it.

I may say simply but I had a couple glasses of wine in me and it did take awhile. But for those of us who couldn’t draw our way out of a corner, this is the easiest option.

20170603_175649

Then finally you just paint the image onto the board, and add your measure lines.

It took me a total of 5 hours to finish painting the whole thing, which I don’t think is too bad considering this is my first time actually painting. Simple as that, and I find the painting to be quite relaxing and the final result something that I hope my daughter will appreciate throughout the years.

If you decide to make one please share your pictures with me, I love these things and happy crafting.

Until next time

Leave a Reply

